Merry Christmas!

It’s amazing to see the day when people who say “Merry Christmas” are viewed (and themselves feel) as “rebels”. Just recently as I was leaving a bank I told the woman working there “Merry Christmas”. She hadn’t given me any reason to think that she would be “offended” and ultimately she seemed perfectly fine with my wish for her. That being said (you must have assumed there was a greater point being made here…) as those two words escaped my mouth I felt rebellious to my core. I hated that feeling. It wasn’t logical (don’t start calling me “Spock”). Rebelling against what? The notion that it’s unacceptable in todays society to use those words. When it’s someones birthday, do we feel rebellious when we wish them a Happy Birthday? No. It’s because religion is not involved. It’s also sad to see people who are unsure whether to carry out this rebellious wish. “Happy..<pause>.. Merry..<pause>.. Have a good..<pause>..” I actually heard someone say this to me two days ago.  I put them out of their misery by showing them that it’s okay to be rebellious. I wished her a MERRY CHRISTMAS. You should have seen the look of relief on her face. She came back with a Merry Christmas of her own… Maybe from now on she’ll be a rebel herself… To quote G.K. Chesteron: “A dead thing can go with the stream, but only a living thing can go against it.”

So, I want to wish all my readers (all 4 of you) a very MERRY CHRISTMAS. I’ll leave you now with a few Christmas quotes that are some of my favorites:

I have always thought of Christmas time, when it has come round, as a good time; a kind, forgiving, charitable time; the only time I know of, in the long calendar of the year, when men and women seem by one consent to open their shut-up hearts freely, and to think of people below them as if they really were fellow passengers to the grave, and not another race of creatures bound on other journeys.  ~Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol

Happy, happy Christmas, that can win us back to the delusions of our childish days; that can recall to the old man the pleasures of his youth; that can transport the sailor and the traveller, thousands of miles away, back to his own fire-side and his quiet home!  ~Charles Dickens, The Pickwick Papers

Christmas is the season for kindling the fire of hospitality in the hall, the genial flame of charity in the heart.  ~Washington Irving

When we were children we were grateful to those who filled our stockings at Christmas time.  Why are we not grateful to God for filling our stockings with legs?  ~G.K. Chesterton

And the Grinch, with his Grinch-feet ice cold in the snow, stood puzzling and puzzling, how could it be so?  It came without ribbons.  It came without tags.  It came without packages, boxes or bags.  And he puzzled and puzzled ’till his puzzler was sore.  Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before.  What if Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store.  What if Christmas, perhaps, means a little bit more.  ~Dr. Seuss

The great majority of people will go on observing forms that cannot be explained; they will keep Christmas Day with Christmas gifts and Christmas benedictions; they will continue to do it; and some day suddenly wake up and discover why. – GK Chesterton

Leave a Reply

